SCCST Graduation Award Winners 2020

The **Fine Arts** award is given to the students who have demonstrated creativity, skill, and passion for their art and have shared their talent with the school community.

Bethann Juhr

Arianna Rojas

Cecily Baglio







The **World Language Award** is given to the students who have demonstrated excellence in language acquisition as well as an appreciation of different cultures.

Inaaya Ali



The **Music Award** is given to the student who shows exceptional attitude and enthusiasm towards learning an instrument and acquiring all the skill sets needed to be a musician.

Gregory Storms



The **Sportsmanship/Athlete** award is given to the students who are not only athletically gifted, but who have also demonstrated good sportsmanship and team leadership, both on and off the field.

Isabell Mariglia



Ernesto Lopez



The **Science Award** is given to the students who demonstrate high academic achievement in the area of science and whose curiosity and inquisitive nature takes their love of the subject beyond the classroom.

Zoe Sweetman



The **STEM Award** is given to the students that best exemplified growth, teamwork, and overall success in STEM class. The recipients of this award positively approached STEM challenges, strategically supported their own ideas as well as the ideas of others in a collaborative environment, and demonstrated superior problem-solving ability and persistence in the application of the Engineering Design Process.

Zoe Sweetman







The Society of Women Engineers' club Engineering Award is given to students who reflect a dedication to learning the tools of engineering, continuously propelling themselves forward. The recipients of this award jump into new engineering projects without fear of failure, are resourceful and steadfast in reaching their goals, delight in recruiting new members, and exemplify the empowerment of young women in STEM roles.

Isabella Miraglia



The Society of Women Engineers' club Greenhouse Club Award is given to the student that has shown exemplary initiative and leadership qualities that promote positive environmental practices, advocacy of healthy and smart agriculture, and unending efforts in brainstorming "greener" ways of living with a contagious can-do attitude.

Sarah Marencik



The **Mathematics Award** is given to the student who exhibits excellence in the area of mathematical thinking and has demonstrated an ability to grasp mathematical concepts quickly.

Innaya Ali



Mackenzie Janton



The Daughters of the American Revolution Excellence in History Award is given to the student who has excelled academically in social studies, and who has also demonstrated a passion for history and an understanding of the importance of learning from our country's past.

Ozzie Tobin



This year the **Daughters of the American Revolution Excellence in History Award** for Good Citizenship goes to:

Jasmine Ibekwe



The English Language Arts Writing Award goes to the student who not only excelled academically in Language Arts, but whose writing exceeds grade level expectations in originality, technical skill and personal voice.

Inaaya Ali

Ozzie Tobin





The **Spirit Award** goes to the students who best exemplify Sussex Charter's principles of Respect, Responsibility and Resilience. These students do not necessarily receive fanfare, but instead, quietly lead by example.

Arianna Rojas

Diego Rojas





The **Compassion Awards** goes to the students who most demonstrated a true understanding of what it means to find the good in everyone. These students can always be counted on to be kind and supportive to their classmates.

Rebecca Alfaro

Matteo Pascale





Each year, the Sussex County School Counselor's Association offers the **Caring Award** to one 8th grade student in each middle school within Sussex County. The student receiving this award has demonstrated the values of helping and caring in human relationships. This student is respectful of others, displays caring through volunteering in community, religious or club activities, participates in school activities, displays helpfulness, demonstrates a kind, considerate & compassionate attitude, values people who are different from themselves, is cheerful and optimistic, demonstrates dedication and commitment to a cause and is supportive of others.

Kara Loewrigkeit



In the name of the Superintendents' Roundtable Association of Sussex County and upon presentation by the Chief School Officer of each district, this honor of the **Superintendents' Roundtable Award** is conferred in recognition of student excellence and distinguished contribution to our school community.

Ozzie J. Tobin



The **Overall Academic Achievement Award** is given to the student with the highest level of academic achievement as is indicated by the highest grade point average in 8th grade.

Inaaya Ali



Founded in 1983, the **President's Education Awards Program** honors graduating middle school students for their achievement and hard work.

The program has provided individual recognition from the President and the U.S. Secretary of Education to those students whose outstanding efforts have enabled them to meet challenging standards of academic excellence. Each year, thousands of middle schools participate by recognizing deserving students. The **President's Award for Educational Excellence** recognizes academic success in the classroom. To be eligible, students must meet 2 requirements:

A grade point average of an A throughout middle school, grades 6 through 8 AND high achievement on a state or nationally-normed reading AND math tests.

Inaaya Ali





Hunter Christy



Elijah Dalelio



Jasmine Ibekwe



Jacob Kaps



Elijah Fischer



Mackenzie Janton



Timophy Kopf



Jonas Hardin



Owen Jaros



Dante Torres



Kara Loewrigkeit





Devin Rosser





Maya McQueen

Alexandra Perez Alexander Riker



Zoe Sweetman



Ozzie Tobin



Isabel Miraglia



Arianna Rojas



Lucas Swenson



12

Recognizing the 8th grade **members of the National Junior Honor Society**. These students have created an enthusiasm for scholarship, to stimulate a desire to render service, to promote worthy leadership and to encourage the development of character and citizenship in students, making our school a better place. The current members of the 2019-2020 National Junior Honor Society Chapter are....

Aiden Arias



Elijah Dalelio



Owen Jaros

Gillian Busniak



Jonas Hardin



Timothy Kopf

Hunter Christy



Jasmine Ibekwe



Dante Torres



Kara Loewrigkeit



Gabriel Nardini



Arianna Rojas





Maya McQueen



Matteo Pascale



Devin Rosser





Isabel Miraglia



Alexandra Perez



Ryan Salerno



Cassidy Sibbern



Zoe Sweetman



Dane Walker



Ozzie Tobin

